National Register

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation’s historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service’s National Register is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America’s historic and archeological resources.

Mission Soledad

Mission Soledad

In California, the Office of Historic Preservation (OHP) coordinates applications pursuant to National Park Service guidelines. Nominations submitted to OHP are reviewed by State Historians and forwarded to the State Historical Resources Commission for recommendation. The Commission recommendation is then forwarded to the Keeper of the National Register for a determination.

ARCHIVES & ARCHITECTURE, and it’s predecessor firm Dill Design Group, have submitted five nominations to the National Register, and have prepared additional documentation for an owner-submitted sixth.

  • Donner-Houghton House, San Jose
  • John Colpitts Ainsley House, Campbell
  • Seven Springs Ranch, Cupertino (determined eligible, listed on California Register)
  • Ernest Renzel House, San Jose (owner submitted application)
  • Rhoades Ranch, Morgan Hill
  • San Jose Central Fire Station, San Jose
  • Mission Nuestra Se├▒ora de la┬áSoledad, Soledad (listed June, 2014), photo above